Your Favorite Horse. Cavalo Blues. 3"CDR (out of print)

please click here to download from

Cavalo Blues is the companion piece to Summerland, both records were recorded in late 2001/early 2002. Whereas Summerland highlighted Jeely's struggle with alcoholism, Cavalo Blues carves out a uniquely disturbed world merged with a simple folk style. Authentic, sincere, and damn near uncomfortable in its odd imagery. Jeely lays bare his own demons, and spins some of the most obtuse lyrics about the death of Blind Lemon Jefferson, spider-legged saints, penguins, dogs of war, and much much more, all wrapped in a lo-fi charm.

01. From Season To Season
02. I Feel The Evil Of The World
03. Penguin Blues
04. Shadow Boxing Blues
05. Beloved Corpse
06. Spiderleg
07. Lemon Blues
08. Rise Again

click here for lyrics

|: cover by Cataract Press


Although issued separately, the 3-inch discs Summerland and Cavalo Blues were recorded between 2001 and 2002 and therefore could just as easily have been released as a full-length (or perhaps mini-album) by Chris Jeely. It's fitting that he opts for a separate alias here, as Your Favorite Horse occupies a dramatically different realm, one more introspective, vulnerable, and emotionally direct, than the abstract explorations pursued under the Accelera Deck guise.
The general mood of Cavalo Blues is healthier, more animated and lively, though the lo-fi, bedroom-recording ambiance retains Summerland's intimate feel. “From Season To Season” gets Cavalo Blues off to an upbeat start, though Jeely's lyrics still ooze ominous tidings (“The dogs of war are sleeping in my bed”); song titles like “I Feel The Evil Of The World” and “Beloved Corpse” suggest similar moods though that can be deceiving. The latter, for example, fixates less on the “beloved corpse of memory” and more on staking out a life freed from suffocating habits of convention, while “Spiderleg” paints a scathing portrait of Jeely's home town, a crumbling city where “everyone is walking dead.” Like before, guitar enhancements colour many of the disc's eight songs (thrumming needles behind the acoustic strums and hushed vocals of “I Feel The Evil Of The World,” fluttering ripples in “Beloved Corpse”) though some (“Shadow Boxing Blues”) remain stark settings of primarily acoustic guitar and vocals. Significantly, the refrain “I will rise again” appears in the last song, offering an expression of hopeful determination that's stronger than any other heard throughout these companion discs.